ugh…limitations

Last weeks post found me full of optimism but this week finds me in a different frame!

I have a beef with technology this week…my husband has been battling Cancer since May. He has had surgery and endured 9 weeks of chemotherapy (which is barbaric). After this we were told he should be cured…alas he was not and there is some sort of a mass on a lymphnode. It could be one of three things. We saw a surgeon in Sasaktoon who told us that it is a rare surgery and that he is not comfortable doing it. So, off we head to Edmonton in the near future for a consultation and possibly another trip for surgery!

When we were at the office in Saskatoon I was mesmerized by the technology…we sat in a room and viewed his CT’s for about ten minutes. I was amazed at how the images worked and how the doctor knew what everything was (phew). As he rolled back and forth one thing kept coming to my mind; why doesn’t the technology allow us to see what it is on his lymphnode. Why is it only narrowed to three possibilities?

Technology has its limitations and this is a case where I wish it didn’t.

On top of all of this our house is under a major renovation which is stressful because I just want it finished. BUT, the lumber yard we deal with continually screws up and pushes our completion date further away. AND, the learning curve of the new job is tremendous…I don’t have time to think in a day and I truthfully have begun to hear my name being called in my sleep.

I have been trying to wrap my head around a final project idea and I am not sure if what I have in mind qualifies…Is anyone else out there struggling to come up with an idea?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ugh…limitations

  1. sjphipps says:

    Hey there,

    I too am struggling. We share a lot of the same frustrations including ones with the limitations of technology in medecine. I was hospitalized for two days this past week and then released because my tests showed nothing. So even though I am still in pain, out I go. I think with the amount of stress you have on your plate, you are allowed and expectated to feel frustrated. I recently just built a house with my husband and it was chaotic and the builders are no help! I would however like to thank you for sharing this little piece of your life with us. I think sitting at this computer, sometimes we forget that everyone posting has a life and troubles to go with them. We are actually people behind these words. Thanks for helping to build our community! My prayers are with you and your husband for a speedy cancer-free recovery.

  2. Hi Lindsay,
    I’m really sorry to hear about what you’re going through – I had no idea until now. I’m wishing your husband a very quick recovery and to get through the surgery and with great success. This must be so incredibly frustrating and such a rough time for you and your family.

    Many people in the class have sent me ideas via email, and I assume, many will be sharing their projects on their blogs. However, if you are not seeing anything, feel free to email or call me and we can come up with something. The sooner, the better, to reduce your stress level and to ensure your own success.

  3. mickpanko says:

    The limitations of technology is a funny idea because while our generation is more advanced than any before it – we seem to have less real/tangible connections to actual people than any society in time.
    I am sorry to hear about your husband’s health issues and will put you in my list of good thoughts and prayers – it isn’t much – but it’s all I got. 🙂

  4. lbechard says:

    Echoing the comments of others… thanks for sharing a little bit of yourself and prayers for good news with further tests. My Mother (75) just finished 6 cycles of chemo so I’m heading there over Thanksgiving to give Thanks and to get her garden ready for winter (dig potatoes & carrots) and do whatever else needs done – maybe take her for a bit of retail therapy or out to visit some friends.

    Please don’t be too proud to ask for help. Ask friends, co-workers, classmates, neighbours and family members for help. I’m happy to meet with you virtually to brainstorm project ideas if that will be helpful. I see my Mom (75), legally blind & with cancer and Dad (83) (frail with heart condition) needing help. As they are not very good “askers”, they wait for someone to offer. We are extremely thankful for neighbours who will offer… and we make sure they know we appreciate it with notes of thanks (complete with gift cards to Tim Horton’s or a dinner on us).

  5. Hi Lindsay,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your husband during this time.

    Shauna

  6. Chelsi says:

    Hi Lindsay,
    I’m thinking about you and your husband. I hope that things will start looking up very soon.

    ~ Chelsi

Leave a Reply

