Photo Editing Software and Cameras

I am looking to buy a new camera and I am positive it will be a Canon. Does anyone have a great SLR camera that they LOVE? What is it and why do you LOVE it?

I want something that I can change the lenses so keep that in mind.

My second question to the masses today is: What photo editing software do you use? Is it online and FREE or have you bought a program?

Thanks for all your input!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo Editing Software and Cameras

  1. Chelsi says:

    I wish that I could answer some of your questions, but I am wondering the same things! I’m looking to get an SLR for Christmas and definitely want a Canon as well. My digital camera is a Canon SX100 and I have nothing but great things to say about it and how it has performed for the past 4 or 5 years.
    I usually use iPhoto for editing my photos, and I used to use Adobe. I am wanting to find some good free software though, so I’m curious to see what others have to post!

  2. I use Aperture (which is a step up from iPhoto), but if you are looking for something basic and free, http://www.picnik.com/ is decent, especially with students.

    I shoot with a Canon 7D – the same camera that did this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkviQ41u0eQ … I can’t longboard or do photography/video that well.

  3. Aviary.com has decent photo editing- It has layers and some photoshop features but its free and browser-based- It also has an audio package and a google apps account can be linked to it-

  4. Hi Lindsay! A good friend/colleague of mine just bought her dream camera – Canon Rebel T3. It looks amazing! If I could purchase a new DSLR, that would be my pick!

    As far as photo editing software, personally, nothing can touch Photoshop, but there are a few good online photo editors that are free too. Read the terms of service though, some sites keep your photo and claim ownership after you upload. My favourites (and many of my students too) are Picnik, Fotoflexer, Pixlr, and Paint.net.

  5. Claire says:

    I follow @courosa on Twitter and thought I would respond – I have a Nikon D5000 – it has many features, it’s easy to use, and also has HD video. As far as editing, the more I use Aperture from Apple, the more I use it, I love it. It’s Mac’s version of photoshop. If you don’t have a mac, you could also get Photoshop Elements that is lesser but still robust (and much cheaper ) version of Photoshop. Hope this helps.

  6. Alyssa says:

    Well I’m a Nikon user and LOVE my D7000. In fact, I teach yearbook and that’s all I let my student use as well. As for software, I love Aperture. The equivalent PC would be adobe lightroom (which I hear is just as good). Photoshop is photoediting software, not photo processing, so I would steer away from it. Anything online will mess with your photo resolution (in ybk we print at 300 dpi so anything online (72) we can’t print).

  7. Alyssa says:

    Also, to fully edit photos you should be shooting raw. Jpegs are already partially compressed with missing data – so you will have way more flexibility shooting raw and loading in to aperture or lightroom.

  8. Christopher Poynter (@ChrisPoynter) says:

    I’d get the Canon 7D or if you want something a little cheaper, the 60D. Like you, I also prefer Canon digital cameras, however; I think the longrunning “Canon vs. Nikon” battle has about as much merit as the “Mac vs. PC” trashtalk that people always seem to engage in. It’s all a matter of personal preference, and in this case, personally, it has more to do with what I’ve gotten used to with the layout, menus, etc.

    Use Lightroom and Photoshop together, and Alyssa is right; shoot in raw format.

    I just bought a film SLR for a photography class I’m taking at UVic this semester… so much fun! It’s an oldschool fully manual Nikon FM2(n) with a 50mm (1.6-22) lens, so if you’re looking to get into film I’d highly recommend that one 🙂

  9. Like Chris mentioned, it is personal preference. I am a Canon user 500D -great online support. Easy to use. I use GIMP as a free online tool. Simple editing iPhoto or picnik. Have got Appeture but havent had to investigate as yet 😉 hope all goes well @7mrsjames

  10. Ron Grimes says:

    I’m a Nikon D80 user and love it, but IMHO the Canon/Nikon divide is not important. What’s more important is to get the lens(s) you’re happy with. I have the 18-200mm lens & a 50mm lenses which has been a great combination.

    I initially shot jpg, but now shoot exclusively RAW and process with Lightroom (make sure you get student pricing). LR is great for improving images, and much nicer to use than Photoshop if you don’t want to add/subtract items in a picture.

    I also occasionally use Corel Paintshop Pro – an unsung Photoshop me-too, especially when I print pictures.

    Happy shooting!

  11. lbechard says:

    I also use GIMP and paint.net which are both free photo editing applications.

Leave a Reply

