Just Like Family

Saturday was a very sad day for our family. We unexpectedly had to put down one of our dogs, Ryot. She was an amazing dog. She was so well-behaved and never had to be on a leash outside. She loved to fetch until she could not walk! Ryot would have been 10 on November 1!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today, my sister and her husband had to put down their dog as well! So in a 48 hour span we have lost two family members. I do believe Buddy was about 15 years old!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Like Family

  1. Chelsi says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Pets can be such an important part of one’s life, so I can understand how difficult it is to lose not one, but two dogs. (A few years ago, I had to put both of my dogs down in the span of a four months.) I think that anyone who has owned a pet really understands that you’re not just losing a dog, but a family member. Thinking of you.

  2. Sorry to hear of your loss. I know it’s incredibly difficult.

    My brother lost his dog a bit more than a year ago and he wrote about the experience here: http://georgecouros.ca/blog/archives/1132 … sad stuff.

  3. lbechard says:

    We lost our 12 year old black lab a little over a year ago too, so reading your post has me awash again with all those memories and feelings of loss. I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to have a supportive employer who let me work from home during her last days until we could arrange for her to be euthanized and all family members present. Our 17 year old son had been only 5 years old when we got her and one of our daughters considered her to be her training buddy as Gracie would run with her on a regular basis. To see a macho, 17 year old boy sobbing with grief right along side his Dad was heart wrenching. She was the co-pilot on every trip my husband made to the farm, rejoicing in the freedom and fun of chasing the birds (our neighbour is still not sure what wild animal got his baby ducks!) and swimming in the dugout! In her memory, I put together a momento that included her paw prints, a picture of her and a poem about her playing with all the other family pets who had gone before her. Yes, truly members of the family. So sorry to hear of your loss.

  4. tmemann says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. It is heart breaking. I believe our pets open up a place in our hearts that would otherwise not exist. They change our hearts forever. Thinking about you…

  5. mickpanko says:

    I’m sorry for your loss…

    We had to put down our boy “Duke” a couple years ago and I still miss him every time I walk in the door…he got cancer and was only three – it was a terrible day and I remember it like yesterday.
    Our pets become family members and hold a special place always in our hearts!

Leave a Reply

