Eeks…been a while

So many times I have sat down to write this post but for one reason or another, I haven’t. Where do I start…last you heard from me I was applying to DENSI. Well I was accepted to go and I spent a week in beautiful Bozeman, Montana.

Heading there I had no idea what I was in for. I kept hearing that DENSI was an amazing PD experience and how fun the week would be. Until I got there, I really had no idea. I met a group in the Minneapolis airport and from there it was a week of learning, laughs and fun. Each night my brain was in information overload. There was so much to learn about and so many amazing people to learn from.

Discovery Education planned an amazing week full of guest speakers, activities and an un-conference day. We even spent a day in Yellowstone National Park. I have never been there before so it was a fantastic experience. I spent the day on a photo walk with Daniel Cox. He walked through the geysers with us, providing photography tips. Lucky me since I had just purchased a new camera and lens.  Another fun activity was the DENmazing Race. I have to throw this in here because my team, The Breakfast Club, dominated the race and took home the trophy. My team included members from Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Texas and Pennsylvania.

The greatest thing about DENSI was the people. The contacts I have made with people from across North America are invaluable. I cannot count how many times I have contacted or been contacted by one of these amazing people for resources, information, project ideas or to collaborate on something.

I have applied to attend DENSI 2013 in Burlington, Vermont. Hopefully I have the chance to attend again this year and make connections with many new and wonderful people! This year they stipulated they wanted an unedited video explaining our DEN (Discovery Educator Network) story. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

